What music I want to hear when my wife and I go raving again…

I’m glad I waited to have a baby until i was in my 30s. By the time our little girl arrived I’d got most of the raving urges out of my system. My wife and I made the most of the year before the pregnancy. We went on holidays to Zimbabwe, Lisbon, Madrid and the capital of House music, Ibiza. Our trip to Ibiza changed my life, literally. My perspective on bass music changed and I think I finally understood House music properly. There’s something about hearing music in the environment it’s meant to be heard in. Being on a boat party in the middle of the ocean with the Belearic sunshine, drinking an ice cold beer and dancing to House music really does something for the inspiration.

In between the holidays we also went to loads of music events. One of my favourites has to be a grime event hosted by Frisco in Shoreditch called The Den. We attended the launch which was headlined by Boy Better Know. Skepta absolutely shut it down (before ‘Shutdown’ was released) with ‘That’s Not Me’ and ‘It Ain’t Safe’, let alone his notorious Spaceship freestyle.

After a mad year of living life to the fullest, we had a relatively calm 2015 waiting for our baby to arrive. Our daughter is 3 months old now and while we couldn’t think of anything better than chilling out at home with our precious baby, we can at least start thinking about venturing out again later this year. We’ve spoken about how and when we will start having ‘date night’ again and we agreed it will be a slow process. The thought of leaving baby right now is unthinkable but we know it’s best for us, the Grandparents and most importantly baby if we gradually start the process over the next few months.

As you know, I love music. I’ve been hearing some new music that is making me excited to go out again. When we do eventually venture out, there are a few tunes that have been released recently that i absolutely need to hear loud in the club!

D Double E – Like This

This tune is absolutely crazy. Classic funky instrumental with a classic D Double E flow! If I hear this in a club I’d go mental.

Chip & Stormzy – Hear Dis

For me Chip is one of the best MC’s in the UK. Stormzy came with the skippy flow and these two killed it! Also, love the classic Ruff Sqwad beat.

Kano – Garage Skank freestyle

Kano is back. The beat on this is mad. I will be garage skanking hard when I hear this out.

Kano – 3 Wheel Ups

This sounds like classic Kano! And Giggs comes with the grime flow to absolutely smash this track.

Ghetts and Rude Kid – One Take

Rude Kid kills the production on this using samples from old grime beats. Can’t wait to hear this pumping through the speakers.

One thought on “What music I want to hear when my wife and I go raving again…

Leave a Reply

